A Tribe Called Quest, Sade, Eric B. & Rakim Among 2024 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees


The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2024 nominees on Saturday (February 10) and two legendary Hip-Hop acts are on the list—A Tribe Called Quest and Eric B. & Rakim. Others on the ballot include Sade, Sinéad O’Connor, Peter Frampton, Jane’s Addiction, Foreigner, Mary J. Blige, Cher, Kool & the Gang, Lenny Kravitz, Oasis, Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Matthews Band and Mariah Carey.

As explained in a press release, the inductees will be announced at the end of April, while the ceremony will be held in Cleveland—the home of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame—in November.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (@rockhall)

In an interview with AllHipHop, Eric B. talked about the duo’s second nomination, saying, “Maybe it’ll happen this time.  I feel great about it. Let me tell you, anytime anybody nominates you or thinks about you, you should feel great. I think it’s a long time coming. We’re all righteous guys and girls, so it’s on God’s time, not our time. I’d be just as appreciative if I won it the first time, so it’s great.”

When asked if he thought the Rock Hall was doing a good job of including Hip-Hop, he replied, “Everybody can poke holes at somebody else’s operation, and I would never do that. They have their own process. I would never throw rocks at the Hall. This is their institution, they built it, so they do it their way and I respect the process.”

The 2024 ceremony will once again stream live on Disney+ with a special airing on ABC at a later date and available on Hulu the next day. The 2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony streamed live on Disney+ for the first time ever; the special on ABC reached more than 13 million viewers across linear and streaming, and ABC’s New Year’s Day telecast was the No. 1 entertainment choice among Adults 18-49.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. Ten of the 15 nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Carey, Cher, Foreigner, Frampton, Kool & the Gang, Kravitz, Oasis, O’Connor, Osbourne and Sade.