Anderson .Paak & Knxwledge (NxWorries) Release New Album ‘Why Lawd?’: Listen


Awaited with baited breath for eight years, Anderson .Paak and Knxwledge mark their return together with their latest collaborative project, Why Lawd? Positioned as the sequel to the earlier Yes Lawd! (yet another collaborative project from the duo), the album is finally out on streaming!

The album was bound to be a hit, having set the tone with Knxwledge’s directorial debut with ‘Daydreaming,‘ which was stylised Anderson .Paak and the world around him in the GTA reminiscent graphics. Also then there was the immensely enjoyable ‘86Sentra,’ with its unconventional snare and drum pattern, soulful and funky and RnB all at once. The album clearly delivers well on the promises portrayed by the hype and transports the listener to worlds beyond and within.

Have to say, the artwork was a bold move too; a mountain in monochrome with two goats in the middle, the duo definitely followed up on the statement made. Going head to head (like GOATs do), the two only amplify each other’s strengths. This constant elevation builds throughout the project, resolving into relaxing melodies and the unique voice that is Anderson .Paak.

Speaking of uniqueness, the feature line up is no less bold. The album kicks off with a Dave Chapelle feature, only for you to find Thundercat waiting for you on track 4. Further down, there’s also H.E.R, Snoop Dogg, October London, Earl Sweatshirt and more. Check out the tracklist and features below before you take a deep dive into the project!

01. ThankU feat. Dave Chappelle
02. 86Sentra
03. MoveOn
04. KeepHer feat. Thundercat
05. Distractions
06. Lookin’
07. Where I Go feat. H.E.R.
08. Daydreaming
09. FromHere feat. Snoop Dogg & October London
10. FallThru
11. Battlefield
12. HereIAm
13. OutTheWay feat. Rae Khalil
14. SheUsed
15. MoreOfIt
16. NVR.RMX feat. Charlie Wilson
17. DistantSpace
18. WalkOnBy feat. Earl Sweatshirt & Rae Khalil
19. EvnMore