Cassandra Jenkins Announces New Album My Light, My Destroyer, Shares Video for New Song: Watch


Cassandra Jenkins is back with a new album, her first for her new label home, Dead Oceans. The singer-songwriter has revealed that My Light, My Destroyer, her follow-up to 2021’s An Overview on Phenomenal Nature, is due out July 12. Jenkins has also shared its lead single, “Only One,” with a Lydia Fine and Tony Blahd–directed music video, which you can watch below.

“Only One” draws inspiration from Jenkins’ friend and the nervous feeling of greeting a new day after restless nights. “It’s about a Groundhog Day effect, finding yourself in the same situation over and over again, not knowing how to get out of that loop—and in some sense, an unwillingness to break a cycle because you’re blinded by your circumstances,” she said in a press statement.

My Light, My Destroyer is Jenkins’ third studio album, and it features a long list of collaborators: producer Andrew Lappin, Palehound’s El Kempner, Hand Habits’ Meg Duffy, Daniel McDowell, Isaac Eiger, Katie Von Schleicher, Zoë Brecher, Josh Kaufman, Stephanie Marziano, and more.

After putting out her last album in 2021, Jenkins shared an outtakes collection, covers of Eartheater and Animal Collective and Vashti Bunyan, and the single “American Spirits.” A short film about her song “Hailey,” made with her close friends, also came out last year.

Read about An Overview on Phenomenal Nature at No. 17 on “The 50 Best Albums of 2021” and “Hard Drive” at No. 2 on “The 100 Best Songs of 2021.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Cassandra Jenkins: My Light, My Destroyer

My Light, My Destroyer:

01 Devotion
02 Clams Casino
03 Delphinium Blue
04 Shatner’s Theme
05 Aurora, IL
06 Betelgeuse
07 Omakase
08 Music??
09 Petco
10 Attente Téléphonique
11 Tape and Tissue
12 Only One
13 Hayley