Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard Announces New Album Harmonics, Shares Song: Listen


Hot Chip’s Joe Goddard will release a new album, Harmonics, on July 12. Today, he has shared a Nathan Castiel–directed video for the single “Moments Die,” featuring the New York singer Barrie. Other guests on the follow-up to 2017’s Electric Lines include Hayden Thorpe (formerly of Wild Beasts), Alabaster dePlume, Ibibio Sound Machine’s Eno Williams, Oranje, Jungle’s TomMcFarland, Fiorious, Falle Nioke, and Goddard’s Hot Chip bandmates Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle.

The album was inspired by “this idea of trying to divorce your conscious mind from the music-making process,” Goddard said in press materials, “not trying to force meaning on the music or your collaborators, allowing that process to be very empathetic.” The new song, Goddard added, “features a beautiful vocal contribution from my friend Barrie which for me is a highlight of my forthcoming album. My words were inspired by John Berger’s book And Our Faces, My Heart, Brief as Photos.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Joe Goddard: Harmonics


01 Joe Goddard / Barrie: “Moments Die”
02 Joe Goddard / Ibibio Sound Machine: “Progress”
03 Joe Goddard / Findia: “Destiny”
04 Joe Goddard / Fiorious “New World (Flow)”
05 Joe Goddard / Oranje: “When Love’s Out of Fashion”
06 Joe Goddard: “Follow You”
07 Joe Goddard: “On My Mind”
08 Joe Goddard / Hayden Thorpe: “Summon”
09 Joe Goddard / Findia: “When You Call”
10 Joe Goddard: “Out at Night”
11 Joe Goddard / Alexis Taylor / Al Doyle: “Mountains”
12 Joe Goddard / Tom McFarland: “Ghosts”
13 Joe Goddard / Falle Nioke: “Miles Away”
14 Joe Goddard / Alabaster dePlume: “Revery”