Kelly Moran Announces New Album Moves in the Field, Shares New Song: Listen


New York pianist, producer, and composer Kelly Moran has announced her first new album in just about six years. Moves in the Field is due out March 29 via Warp. Today, she’s shared the lead single, “Butterfly Phase,” along with a trailer for the LP. Check those both out below.

Last year, Moran released Vesela, an EP of tracks she made using a Yamaha Disklavier player piano. She used the instrument again for the new album. Moran explained in a press release:

In early 2020, Yamaha loaned me a Disklavier player piano—a special instrument that allows you to record your performance for the piano to play back on its own. I was initially working on a duet for myself and another pianist, but when the pandemic hit, the player piano became my duet partner. I began writing a series of duets for myself and the Disklavier, exploring all the different ways I could utilize this instrument to merge its inhuman capabilities with my own playing. The Disklavier allowed me to record multiple layers of my playing so I could create music on the piano that would require more fingers or greater endurance than I physically have – like chords that had more than 10 notes in them, or chords that were spaced out farther than my hands could stretch. Sometimes I’d record a pattern and then speed it up to play back faster than I could ever physically play. My imagination exploded at all the possibilities this instrument allowed me to create, and these explorations culminated in my new record, Moves in the Field.

Moves in the Field is Kelly Moran’s first solo studio LP since November 2018’s Ultraviolet. Revisit the Rising interview “Get to Know Kelly Moran, Who’s Making the Piano Sound Like Nothing You’ve Ever Heard Before.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kelly Moran: Moves in the Field

Moves in the Field:

01 Butterfly Phase
02 Superhuman
03 Don’t Trust Mirrors
04 Dancer Polynomials
05 Sodalis (II)
06 Leitmotif
07 It’s Okay to Disappear
08 Hypno
09 Moves in the Field
10 Solar Flare