Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds Announce New Album Wild God, Share Song: Listen


Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds are back with a new album. Wild God, the follow-up to Ghosteen, arrives August 30, and you can hear the title track below. Cave and Warren Ellis, who released the interim album Carnage in 2021, produced the new LP, with David Fridmann on mixing duties. Colin Greenwood—Radiohead bassist and sometime Cave touring bandmate—and guitarist Luis Almau are billed as additional performers on the LP. Scroll down to see the tracklist and cover art.

Cave said in press materials, “There’s no fucking around with this record. When it hits, it hits. It lifts you. It moves you. I love that about it.”

He added, “I hope the album has the effect on listeners that it’s had on me. It bursts out of the speaker, and I get swept up with it. It’s a complicated record, but it’s also deeply and joyously infectious. There is never a master plan when we make a record. The records rather reflect back the emotional state of the writers and musicians who played them. Listening to this, I don’t know, it seems we’re happy.”

The band—Cave, Ellis, Thomas Wydler, Martyn Casey, Jim Sclavunos, and George Vjestica—wrote and recorded Wild God at Miraval Studios in the French City of Provence and at Soundtree Studios in London. It will be released by the label Bad Seed Ltd., in partnership with Play It Again Sam.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds: Wild God

Wild God:

01 Song of the Lake
02 Wild God
03 Frogs
04 Joy
05 Final Rescue Attempt
06 Conversion
07 Cinnamon Horses
08 Long Dark Night
09 O Wow O Wow (How Wonderful She Is)
10 As the Waters Cover the Sea