Diiv Announce New Album Frog in Boiling Water, Share New Song “Brown Paper Bag”: Listen


Diiv have announced their fourth studio album. The new album, Frog in Boiling Water, is out May 24 via Fantasy. The group made its Deceiver follow-up with producer Chris Coady. Listen to Diiv’s new song “Brown Paper Bag” below.

Frog in Boiling Water is the second album from the current iteration of Diiv—featuring vocalist and guitarist Zachary Cole Smith, guitarist Andrew Bailey, bassist Colin Caulfield, and drummer Ben Newman. The new album’s title is a reference to Daniel Quinn’s 1996 novel The Story of B. Diiv explained:

If you drop a frog in a pot of boiling water, it will of course frantically try to clamber out. But if you place it gently in a pot of tepid water and turn the heat on low, the frog will sink into a tranquil stupor, exactly like one of us in a hot bath, and before long, with a smile on its face, it will unresistingly allow itself to be boiled to death.

We understand the metaphor to be one about a slow, sick, and overwhelmingly banal collapse of society under end-stage capitalism, the brutal realities we’ve maybe come to accept as normal. That’s the boiling water and we are the frogs. The album is more or less a collection of snapshots from various angles of our modern condition which we think highlights what this collapse looks like and, more particularly, what it feels like.

Read more about Diiv’s Deceiver in “The Best Rock Albums of 2019.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Diiv: Frog in Boiling Water

Frog in Boiling Water:

01 In Amber
02 Brown Paper Bag
03 Raining on Your Pillow
04 Frog in Boiling Water
05 Everyone Out
06 Reflected
07 Somber the Drums
08 Little Birds
09 Soul-net
10 Fender on the Freeway