King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard Detail Album, Share Video for New Song: Watch


King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard have announced a new album. Landing August 9, Flight B741 is the 26th studio LP from the prolific Australian rock band. The six-piece is releasing the record on its new (P)Doom Records. Today, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard have shared lead single “Le Risque,” which features the vocal debut of drummer Michael Cavanagh. Watch the group galavant around an airplane hanger in the Guy Tyzack–directed visual below.

Flight B741 follows King Gizzard’s pair of 2023 albums: The Silver Cord and PetroDragonic Apocalypse; or, Dawn of Eternal Night: An Annihilation of Planet Earth and the Beginning of Merciless Damnation. While writing their new material, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard looked to early Steve Miller Band and the Band, trying to keep the songs loose and intuitive.

“This is our most collaborative record,” bandleader Stu Mackenzie said in press materials. “The collaboration was occurring in the room, it was free, and everyone was bringing in songs and ideas. And we wanted to have as many lead vocalists as we could, and to pass the mic.”

Speaking about the goofy video featuring a number of vintage planes, director Guy Tyzack stated: “We were super lucky to have been granted access to this amazing air hanger. The song was chosen because most of the Gizz guys had a singing part and I was excited for the mic to be passed around at a fun, never stopping pace. The day was super packed tight for what we wanted to get and we didn’t want to cut corners. Our crew was tight and the Gizz guys know how to put on a show. We were so tight for time that I didn’t pee all day.”

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard are currently on a massive world tour.

Flight B741:

01 Mirage City
02 Antarctica
03 Raw Feel
04 Field of Vision
05 Hog Calling Contest
06 Le Risque
07 Flight B741
08 Sad Pilot
09 Rats in the Sky
10 Daily Blues