Megan Thee Stallion to Release New Project ‘Suga’ on Friday


Megan Thee Stallion is moving forward with new music.

Despite a highly-publicized battle with her label, the Houston hottie has announced plans to release her new project Suga this Friday, March 6. Taking to social media, Megan revealed the tracklist for the 9-track set, which includes the Tupac-sampled single “B.I.T.C.H.,” plus collaborations with Kehlani and Gunna, with production from The Neptunes.

The album, named after her newest persona Suga, was recorded in Cabo, Miami, Los Angeles, and Texas. Megan had previously revealed a collaboration with SZA, but the track is absent from the tracklist.

She was originally eyeing an early May release to coincide with her late mother’s birthday. The sudden release may have something to do with her label dispute. Suga could potentially fulfill her four-album contract with 1501 Certified Entertainment, the label she signed to when she was 20. Megan has released three prior projects on 1501–2017’s Make It Hot, 2018’s Tina Snow, and 2019’s Fever.

Earlier this week, Meg sued 1501 Certified for blocking her from releasing new music after she requested to renegotiate her contract. “Soon as I said, ‘I want to renegotiate my contract,’ everything went left. It just all went bad,” she told fans on Instagram Live. “It all went left. So now they tellin’ a bitch that she can’t drop no music. It’s really just, like, a greedy game.”

A judge granted her a temporary restraining order, which allowed her to proceed with Friday’s drop. 1501 CEO Carl Crawford has fired back, denying Megan’s allegations. “It’s a whole lie,” Crawford told Billboard. “Nothing is true that she said. Me being greedy and taking money from her, that’s crazy. I never tried to take nothing from her. The only thing we ever did was give, give, give.”

Suga Tracklist

1. “Ain’t Equal”
2. “Savage”
3. “Captain Hook”
4. “Hit My Phone” feat. Kehlani
5. “B.I.T.C.H”
6. “Rich”
7. “Stop Playing” feat. Gunna
8. “Crying in the Car”
9. “What I Need”