New Music Friday – New Singles From Jack Harlow, IDK, BIA & J. Cole, Tyga, 24kGoldn + More


Given the fact Hip Hop aficionados have already been treated to a Jermaine Dupri-approved feature verse from JAY-Z courtesy of Pusha T, the lyrical bar has been set high for all subsequent releases falling in the tailwind of their ferocious collaboration.

However, with a lineup as robust as the latest edition of HipHopDX’s New Music Friday Singles coverage, several rap star contenders stand in close contention of Hov and King Push with incendiary releases of their own. Building on the momentum from his Kanye West-stamped “Nail Tech” single, Jack Harlow stakes his claim to become a part of rap’s upper echelon ahead of his upcoming album via his new offering.

Additionally, 2021 Rising Star BIA has recruited Dreamville Records founder l J. Cole for a properly regal joint effort, while artists such as Jim Jones, Lil Wayne and DJ Khaled, IDK, Tyga and more share fresh releases as well. Check out the full list of releases that dropped on Friday (April 8) below.

BIA f. J. Cole – “London”

Considering BIA just tore the stage down at J. Cole’s Dreamville festival in North Carolina, it seems only right she cashes in her feature verse from The Off-Season rapper, who’s also hot off the release of the collective D-Day: A Gangsta Grillz Mixtape project.

With time on her side, BIA shares her version of “London” featuring J. Cole, which isn’t to be confused with the 2019 collaboration between Cole, Young Thug and Travis Scott for Thugger’s So Much Fun album.

Jack Harlow – “First Class”

Following Jack Harlow’s assist to Kanye West for the billionaire multi-hyphenate rapper’s ground-breaking Donda 2 album, the Louisville-bred rapper has entered album mode.

In the spirit of rolling out his upcoming project Come Home The Kids Miss You, Harlow unlocks his “First Class” single which features a sample of Fergie’s 2006 hit “Glamorous.”

Lil Baby – “In A Minute”

Lil Baby is back with his first solo releases of 2022, fresh off winning his first Grammy Award for Best Melodic Rap Performance for Kanye West’s “Hurricane” featuring The Weeknd.

Opting for a double-or-nothing approach, the 4PF boss drops off his two new singles, “Right On” and “In A Minute,” with accompanying music videos.

Jim Jones f. Lil Wayne, DJ Khaled, Juelz Santana, Migos – “We Set The Trends (Remix)”

Even though Dipset veteran Jim Jones is well connected in the music industry, his relationship with Lil Wayne dates back to the early 2000s when he spent multiple summers with Capo in New York.

Paying homage to the trailblazing legacy their decades-long bond has birthed, while also reaching back into his recent Gangsta Grillz project, Jim Jones adds Lil Wayne and DJ Khaled to his Migos-anchored “We Set The Trends (Remix).”

IDK – “Taco”

Just as Warner Records signee IDK reinvented his sound with his 2021 album USEE4YOURSELF, he’s tinkering with his sonic identity once again on his follow-up release. With the help of Canadian producer Kaytranada, IDK provides ample food for thought on his jazz-tinged “Taco” anthem.

Tyga – “Lifetime”

West Coast mainstay Tyga already started off 2022 strong upon the release of his club-ready “Freaky Deaky” single alongside Grammy Award-winning vocalist Doja Cat. Now, he’s returned to prove he’s here to ball for a “Lifetime” ahead of his upcoming Megastar album.

Russ – “Handsomer (Extended)”

With over 32 million Spotify streams alone between the original and Ktlyn-assisted version of his “Hansomer” single, it’s safe to say Russ has a hit on his hands to start 2022. Keeping pace with the exponential popularity of the track, Russ drops off an extended version of the swaggy record for his loyal listeners to eat up.

Fousheé – “Double Standard”

During Fousheé’s recent interview with DX, she explained how her new music isn’t like anything she has ever released before — with tracks such as her alternative hit “Deep End” serving as a reference point for her unique sound. The RCA signee offers the first release apart of the reconstruction of her identity in the form of “Double Standard,” which features The Internet’s Steve Lacy in the cover art for the single.

Action Bronson – “SubZero”

In the midst of his NBA Leather Tour with Boldy James and Earl Sweatshirt, Action Bronson has announced the follow-up to his 2020 Only For Dolphins album in the form of his Cocodrillo Turbo, which includes features from Conway The Machine, Roc Marciano, Hologram and Meyhem Lauren.

Powered by the production of The Alchemist, Action Bronson ushers in his new album era with his “SubZero” flow and accompanying video. 

FL Dusa f. Kevin Gates – “Bad Man”

Rexx Life Raj f. Larry June – “Jerry Curl”

Berkley rapper Rexx Life Raj recently went global upon the success of his Afrobeat collaboration with Wale & Fireboy DML. Now he’s taking things back to his native Bay Area with the help of Larry June for their “Jerry Curl” collab.

SK8 f. Wiz Khalifa – “Girl Next Door”

Hailing from the Midwest, Taylor Gang signee SK8 has been on the grind for years but most recently underwent a creative firestorm. Equipped with a volatile genre-bending, rock-inspired sound, SK8 delivers his Last Day On Earth EP, which is home to his Wiz Khalifa-assisted “Girl Next Door” single.

G Perico – “It’s Over”

West Coast rapper G Perico has started off the year on fire behind a string of releases, including “Half A Bird” with Dave East, “Fire In The Booth” with Charlie Sloth and his “60 Second Freestyle.”

Keeping it player, as he only knows how, G Perico lets the game know “It’s Over” now that he’s made his mind up in regard to taking his spot at the top.


MVW f. Matt Ox – “Check In”

Executive producer and composer MVW linked with Matt Ox for “Check In,” the debut single from his upcoming album Connections. The vicious bars from the 17-year-old rapper are matched with MVW’s production which holds influence from both classical music and contemporary trap alike.

Backed by a swirling piano loop and trunk-rattling drums, Ox flexes the come-up he’s experienced over his career thus far. Although he’s not even of legal drinking age yet, Ox seems to have hit a new level of maturity. His bars are tight and clean and his wordplay is clever: but that doesn’t mean he’s forgotten how to rage.

Lil Zay Osama – “Real Pain”

Riding the wave of popularity stirred up by his recent releases “Fuck My Cousin” and “Fuck Yo Homie Dead Ass,” Chicago rapper Lil Zay Osama is ready to begin the next chapter for 2021.

In addition to the announcement of his upcoming Trench Baby 3 project, Lil Say Osama allows his heart to bleed on the track for his “Real Pain” single.

2MRW f. Nate Taylorr – “Money Code”

Sometimes creativity thrives in the face of sleep deprivation, as is the case for New Jersey-based, singer and songwriter 2MRW.

Born in the twilight hours of dawn following an overnight studio session, “Money Code” captures 2MRW and Nate Taylorr’s most earnest, and delirious verses geared toward elaborating on the daunting grind of the paper chase.

Don’t forget to show some love to this week’s Honorable Mentions nominees, which include artists such as Pusha T, JAY-Z and Pharrell Wiliams, $not, PGF Nuk and Polo G, Lil Silva and Sapmha and many others.

Also, dive into this week’s New Music Friday Albums coverage featuring new releases from Coi Leray, Fivio Foreign and Vince Staples, among others.

Stay up-to-date with the latest music releases here.

Below you can listen to our DX Daily Podcast (a daily Hip Hop News Podcast M-F) hosts react to the songs as well. If you don’t have time right now but want to check it out later, here is a link to subscribe on the platform of your choice.