Stetsasonic Announce ‘Here We Go Again’ Single Release Date After De La Soul Reunites With Prince Paul


Stetsasonic has returned with a release date for the group’s forthcoming single “Here We Go Again,” the title track from their first full-length studio album in nearly 30 years. Founding member Daddy-O announced a date of August 26 in a recent Instagram post that included a video clip of them performing.

Daddy-O wrote in the caption, “Happy Monday. New Stetsasonic coming August 26! Mark the date!” As he reiterated to HipHopDX, “On the 26th, we’ll be dropping the second single, the title track from our upcoming album Here We Go Again. The level of excitement is overwhelming! To be in the game this long and still make fresh, relatable, current music is the gift that keeps on giving.”

Daddy-O announced the album’s impending arrival in May. While the cover art included a photo of fellow Stetsasonic alum Prince Paul, he’s actually not involved in the production as he was on albums such as On Fire or In Full Gear. Rather, David “C-Doc” Snyder, Kevin Deane and drummer Bobby Simmons, among others, are handling the beats.

Simmons recently suffered a minor health scare and was hospitalized for a short time last month. But Daddy-O told DX “everything went well” and Simmons was doing “fine.” He added, “That’s an old picture before a minor surgery. Surgery went well and he’s healing up hope to have him home soon to finish the album.”

As for Prince Paul, he and De La Soul are drumming up excitement for what appears to be new music. On Wednesday (August 10), Prince Paul shared a group photo of himself, Maseo, Black Sheep MC Dres (a fellow member of the Native Tongues collective), Posdnuos and engineer Scotty Hard to his private Instagram account.

De La Soul followed up with another Instagram post on Friday (August 12) with what looks like cover art featuring cartoon versions of all four of them — Maseo, Prince Paul, Trugoy The Dove (AKA Dave) and Posdnuos. The post came with the caption: “The Magic is Happening. #staytuned @djprincepaul @plugwondelasoul @vinnymerlot @wearedelasoul @amycinnamonart.”

De La Soul hasn’t released an album since the 2016 Grammy Award-nominated effort And The Anonymous Nobody…, which featured contributions from Little Dragon, Snoop Dogg, 2 Chainz, Talking Heads’ David Byrne, Usher and Darkness singer Justin Hawkins.