Peggy Gou Announces Debut Album I Hear You, Shares New Song and Video: Watch


Peggy Gou will release her debut album, I Hear You, on June 7, via XL. The announcement comes with a new song, “1+1=11,” and a video directed by and starring the Icelandic Danish artist (and friend of Gou) Olafur Eliasson. Check it out below.

The album includes the Lenny Kravitz collaboration “I Believe in Love Again” and the singles “I Go” and “(It Goes Like) Nanana.” In a press release, Gou said, “I Hear You is more than just my debut album. It embodies countless hours of dedication in my journey to create something timeless, and is a testament to the power of listening, to ourselves and to each other.”

Of the video, Eliasson added:

Dance is transformative! It bends and reshapes our relationship with time and space. When I was a teenager, breakdancing changed my life. I was into popping, moving like a robot, and doing the electric boogie. Street dance enabled me to explore the space of my body in relation to the world around me. I came to realise that by moving, I could change space. I could change what I saw and what I sensed. And these experiences actually proved foundational for my later artistic work.

Sculpture and dance are both non-verbal languages. Sometimes in order to communicate, you simply have to move. That’s what happened when I first met Peggy. We were having lunch, talking about our shared interests in psychosonics, rhythm, and movement, and to show her the moves I was talking about, I stood up in the restaurant to dance. I was thrilled that she later asked me to dance on video for one of her upcoming releases and to develop the visual language for it. By bringing together dance—embodied exploration of space—with colourful shadows, lights, and mirrors, I was able to bring some of the key interests that have long shaped my art into an entirely new context. Working together has been rewarding and a lot of fun!

Read about Peggy Gou in “The Best Electronic Music of 2021.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Peggy Gou: I Hear You

I Hear You:

01 Your Art
02 Back to One
03 I Believe in Love Again [ft. Lenny Kravitz]
04 All That [ft. Villano Antillano]
05 (It Goes Like) Nanana
06 Lobster Telephone
07 Seoulsi Peggygou (서울시페기구)
08 I Go
09 Purple Horizon
10 1+1=11